Elected officials take the oath of office to start new terms in office
Jan 05, 2011 | 3737 views | 0 0 comments | 35 35 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Elected officials who took the oath of office this week include: (left to right) Commissioner Kenneth Maryboy, Surveyor David Bronson, Assessor Howard Randall, Treasurer Glenis Pearson, Commissioner Phil Lyman, Recorder Louise Jones, Sheriff Rick Eldredge, Clerk Norman Johnson and Judge Lyon Hazleton.  Courtesy photo
view image
A host of San Juan County elected officials took the oath of office as the first order of business at the January 3, 2011 meeting of the San Juan County Commission. County Justice Court Judge Lyon Hazleton administered the oath of office to eight San Juan County leaders, including three new elected officials.

Phil Lyman, a businessman from Blanding, is the newest county commissioner. He replaces Lynn Stevens, who served as commissioner for the past eight years.

Rick Eldredge is the new San Juan County Sheriff, replacing 16-year Sheriff Mike Lacy. Eldredge has been the Utah Highway Patrol supervisor in southeast Utah for several years.

Glenis Pearson is the new San Juan County Treasurer, replacing 16-year veteran Paul Barr. Pearson served as Barr’s deputy in recent years.

Returning for another term are 12-year County Clerk Norman Johnson, eight-year County Assessor Howard Randall, two-year County Surveyor David Bronson, 28-year County Recorder Louise Jones, and four-year County Commissioner Kenneth Maryboy.

In addition, Hazleton was elected to another term as Justice Court Judge. He received the oath of office earlier.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
The San Juan Record welcomes comments on our stories. Please be civil, respectful, focused and humane. Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of sjrnews.com