JUNE 27 UPDATE: Preliminary results show clear winners in some June 26 election races, too close to call in others
Jun 26, 2018 | 5088 views | 0 0 comments | 133 133 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Preliminary results in the June 26 election show clear winners in several races, but other races that are still too close to call. These numbers were released at midnight. There are still approximately 200 provisional ballots to count, along with mailed copies with a correct mail date.

In San Juan County Commission District One, Bruce Adams has won the Republican nomination with 59 percent of the vote. There is no Democratic candidate for the seat.

Bruce Adams – 559

Logan Monson – 389

The race for the Democratic nomination for Second District Commission seat is trending toward Kenneth Maryboy. There is no Republican candidate for the seat.

Rebecca Benally – 580

Kenneth Maryboy – 625

In the Republican primary for San Juan County Sheriff, Jason Torgerson received 69 percent of the vote to defeat challenger Cal Dean Black. Torgerson will face John Young in the general election in November.

Cal Dean Black – 482

Jason Torgerson – 1045

Two school district races were pared to two candidates for the November general election, with Steven Black and Suzette Morris advancing to the general election in District 3, while Lucille Cody and Melvin Capitan Jr advance to the general election in District 4.

District 3

Curtis Yanito – 256

Steven Black – 431

Suzette Morris – 269

District 4

Lucille Cody – 270

Melvin Capitan Jr. – 298

Elsie Dee – 170

Billy Todachennie – 223

In the inaugural Bluff municipal election, the race for Mayor appears too close to call. In the preliminary numbers, 72 write-in votes were cast, with the majority being for Ann Leppanen. However, there were several write in votes for other people, meaning that the race is too close to call.

Marcia Hadenfeldt – 69

Write In – 72

For the Bluff City Council, it appears as if Jim Sayers, Brant Murray, Linda Sosa and Luanne Hook will serve.

Bluff Council 1.5 year

Jim Sayers – 118

Brant Murray – 88

Amer Tumeh – 59

Bluff Council 3.5 year

Linda Sosa – 99

Luanne Hook – 105

Jennifer Davila – 65

In Utah races, Mitt Romney defeated Mike Kennedy for the Republican nominee for US Senate with 75 percent of the vote, while John Curtis defeated Chris Herrod by a similar margin in the race for the Third Congressional seat.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
The San Juan Record welcomes comments on our stories. Please be civil, respectful, focused and humane. Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of sjrnews.com