La Sal teacher named Teacher of the Year in school district
Apr 23, 2008 | 6919 views | 0 0 comments | 1210 1210 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Shelly Thayn is the 2008 Teacher of the Year for the San Juan School District. Thayn received the honor at an April 16 staff appreciation banquet.

Shelly teaches in La Sal and has been a dedicated, professional teacher for many years as the teacher and administrator at the small school.

Shelly accepts the teacher of the year mantle from Ida Tohonnie, from Montezuma Creek. The prior year, the district and state teacher of the year was Kim Schaefer, who teaches music at Whitehorse High School.

A host of district employees were honored at the banquet, sponsored by the San Juan School District Foundation.

In addition to Thayn, honorees include Lori Butler and Chris Adair at Monticello Elementary School, Nathan Chamberlain and Kathleen Ketron at Monticello High School, Brady Tanner and Wanda Ketchum at Albert R Lyman Middle School, Bill Sivert and Bonnie Roberts at San Juan High School, and Derald Kurtz and Cathy Brake at Blanding Elementary School.

Other honorees include Nadine Johnson and Barbara Atcitty at the Bluff School, Jenny Atcitty and Fernando Fonseca at Montezuma Creek Elementary School, Matt Baldwin and Ella Mae Redhouse at Whitehorse High School, Julia Sharp and Stella Benally at Mexican Hat Elementary School, Brian Rich and Lanee Menard-Parrish at Monument Valley High School, Angela Kuhlman in the Reading First program, Jared Brown in the technology department, Tom Corrao in the maintenance department and Debbie Knight in the transportation department.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
The San Juan Record welcomes comments on our stories. Please be civil, respectful, focused and humane. Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of