Remodeling the Blanding South Chapel–again
Located at the top of the north end of the original structure, these old wooden louvers will be replaced. It was concern over the condition of the roof that began the current remodeling process. Though the chapel won’t be returned to its original design, the improvements being made will deliver the building into its next century in good condition.
This is what the Relief Society room presently looks like. Obviously, it will hold a few of the “surprises”. Another change that shouldn’t be a surprise is that all of the old creaky radiators and noisy air conditioners have been removed. The building will maintain its pioneer spirit while providing every modern comfort.
The east side of the South Chapel with the kitchen nestled in-between the classroom addition and the cultural hall. The kitchen was the idea of Mabel Hurst, Joe Hurst’s grandmother. She was the Blanding First Ward Relief Society President at the time the cultural hall was planned. She got her husband, Phil, to help her draw up the rough draft and then presented it to the building committee. President Leland Redd referred to the kitchen as “Mabel’s little lean-to”. Current work on the rooftops is evident in this photo.
This 1957 photograph shows the west side before a door replaced the lower right hand window in the classroom addition. Until the 1950’s kitchen addition, there was no west entrance. The classroom addition, completed in 1942, cost just over $29,000. Frank Hurst was the foreman of this project.
The San Juan Record welcomes comments on our stories. Please be civil, respectful, focused and humane. Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of sjrnews.com