Preliminary results indicate county government question may be rejected
Nov 06, 2019 | 4067 views | 0 0 comments | 490 490 recommendations | email to a friend | print
by Bill Boyle, San Juan Record Editor

While hundreds of votes still have not been counted as of Wednesday morning, it appears as if voters are on the way to defeat a ballot initiative that could have led to a change in San Juan County government.

Preliminary trends show approximately 52 percent of county voters rejecting the ballot proposal, which would have set up a committee to investigate a possible change in county government.

Late on Tuesday evening, more than 650 votes were sitting in the safe of San Juan County Clerk John David Nielson. They represent late arriving mailed ballots and provisional ballots.

Despite the hundreds of as yet uncounted votes, trends show that the initiative may go down to defeat. Commissioners will canvass the election results on November 19.

Turnout was more than 50 percent in the off-year election, which was triggered when five county residents submitted a petition which put the question to the voters.

In recent weeks, the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) expressed concerns that the county may not be following a set of guidelines for county elections. The guidelines had been agreed upon as part of a settlement over a lawsuit regarding the vote by mail system used by San Juan County.

Delays are due to a number of factors, the greatest of which may be the immense distances involved in San Juan County.

Ballots from the polling stations in Montezuma Creek, Oljato and Navajo Mountain were shuttled up to Monticello after the polls closed at 8 p.m. on November 5.

Stay tuned to the San Juan Record as this story continues to develop.

Voters elected three city residents to four-year terms on the Monticello City Council. Nathan Chamberlain, Kim Henderson, and Ron Skinner were the choice of voters. Chamberlain is an incumbent. Henderson and Skinner will fill the seats currently held by KC Olson and Blaine Nebeker.

The three newly-elected representatives were also the top vote getters in the August primary election.

In Bluff, incumbents Jim Sayers and Brant Murray appear to have earned four-year terms on the Bluff Town Council. They had been elected to 18-month terms in the inaugural town council election in 2018.

A write in attempt by Jennifer Davila fell just short, with 41 ballots signaling a preference for a write-in candidate. As of Wednesday morning, San Juan County Clerk John David Nielson has not yet checked the write-in ballots to see if Davila was the write-in candidate.

Three incumbents will each serve an additional four-year term on the Blanding City Council. Logan Monson, Kd Perkins, and Logan Shumway were unopposed.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
The San Juan Record welcomes comments on our stories. Please be civil, respectful, focused and humane. Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of