Eleven local winners named in annual Sterling Scholar competition
Mar 12, 2008 | 1547 views | 0 0 comments | 36 36 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Students from the San Juan School District had a good night when the winners of the annual Sterling Scholar competition were announced.

Local students were the winner in two categories, including the prestigious general scholarship category, and runners-up in nine additional categories.

Tylan Dee, a senior at Monument Valley High School, was the winner in the Trade and Technical Education category.

Spencer Simpson, a senior at San Juan High School, was the General Scholarship winner.

Simpson has garnered a host of awards in his senior year, just a few years after suffering a life-threatening head injury.

Runners-up from San Juan High include Haley Parker in English, Dane Hurst in Business and Marketing, and J. J. Grover in Trade and Technical Education.

A runner-up from Whitehorse High School is Hokti Miles in General Scholarship.

Runners-up from Monticello High School include Ashley Dowell in Mathematics, Becky Francom in Business and Marketing, Annie Anderson in Social Science, Kayla Holyoak in Speech and Drama, and Janelle Jack in Music.

Students from nine high schools in southeast Utah compete in the annual competition, with college and university scholarships offered to winners.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
The San Juan Record welcomes comments on our stories. Please be civil, respectful, focused and humane. Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of sjrnews.com