Buck wrestlers gaining strength
Jan 20, 2010 | 1401 views | 0 0 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print
by Anna Thayn

As the end of the wrestling season draws near, the Monticello Buckaroos are showing their strength and getting better each week.

The Buckaroos earned a first place team trophy from the Shiprock Duals Tournament, and a second place team finish from the Garrison Spencer Memorial Tournament at Shiprock.  They also dominated duals against San Juan and Cortez. 

The two day event at Shiprock included a duals tournament Friday and a bracketed tournament Saturday.  In duals, the Buckaroos defeated all the teams in their pool, Shiprock 60-16, Ganado 71-3, Miyamura 53-23, and Kirtland Central 40-34. They then faced the winner of the other pool, Aztec, and came out the winner 40-26 to earn the team title.  Rounding out the top four were Aztec, Bloomfield and Kirtland Central. 

David Boyle, CJ Cordasco, Adam Martinez, Tyrel Shupe, MJ Wagstaff and Tazz Robinson went undefeated in duals.  Boyle added two technical falls, bringing him to within one of the school record.  Colton Musselman and Ricky Wilcox were 3-1, with five of their wins coming by fall. Also earning wins for the Bucks were James Johnson, with a 15-second pin, Brian Robinson with an exciting overtime win over his Aztec opponent, Van DeMille, Tim Ryan and John Mayne.

On the second day of the tournament, the Bucks continued to dominate, earning a second place team trophy behind Bloomfield.  Adam Martinez, MJ Wagstaff and Tazz Robinson brought home hard-earned first place medals.  Martinez had three straight pins, two in under a minute on his way to the finals.

Wagstaff cruised and was taken down just once the entire tournament, in his final match against Jimmy Tate of San Juan. Wagstaff went on to win the match 5-4 in ultimate overtime. Wagstaff’ was voted the outstanding wrestler in the upper weights. 

Robinson had falls in each match to earn a spot in the finals. With the score tied at 0 in the third period, his opponent escaped to lead 1-0. With no time to spare, Robinson scored a takedown moments before the clock hit zero to win the match 2-1.

Earning third place finishes were David Boyle, Ricky Wilcox, and Tyrel Shupe.  All three wrestlers were strong throughout the tournament with Wilcox and Boyle each earning three wins by fall, and Shupe putting two falls and a technical fall in the books.

Due to errors in tournament bracketing, several Buckaroos reached their maximum number of matches before the end of the tournament, leaving Brian Robinson, Colton Musselman and CJ Cordasco unable to complete the tournament. All three wrestlers were doing well.  Also scoring wins for the Buckaroos were Tim Ryan and John Mayne.  James Johnson, Kelland Brewer, and Van DeMille also wrestled at the tourney.

The Buckaroos dominated opponents in dual meets this week, defeating the San Juan Broncos, 57-21 and the Cortez Panthers 60-12.

Brian Robinson led off for the Buckaroos against the Broncos and wasted no time setting the tone for the night. Robinson was quick to take down Jayden Squires, earning a win by fall in only 50 seconds.

David Boyle followed with a pin just 1:08 into his match with Russel Musselman. CJ Cordasco kept up the momentum, with a 1:20 pin over Tavish Benally.  Benny Royer picked up the first win for the Broncos with a pin of Tim Ryan. 

Tyrel Shupe fell behind early and was defeatd 5-2 by Trey Macdonald.  Nephi Barlow put the Buckaroos back in the win column with an exciting fall over Jayrandon Jones early in the second period.

MJ Wagstaff kept the fans energized, going up against San Juan’s Jimmy Tate.  Wagstaff scored first on a take down, but escapes by Tate in the first two periods put the scored tied at two going into the final period. Wagstaff came from the bottom to score the escape and win the match 3-2. 

Tazz Robinson gave the fans a scare when he fell behind early, but battled back and was down by one point late in the third period when he took Royal Myrick down. With 30 seconds left in the match, Robinson made a move, turning Myrick and winning by fall.

Dallin Jacobson got the final win of the night for San Juan by pinning James Johnson. San Juan forfeited matches to Colton Musselman, Ricky Wilcox, Skyler Hall, and Adam Martinez, and the Bucks forfeited to Nathan Webb.

Against the Panthers, Colton Musselman and Adam Martinez were in total control of their matches, not allowing their opponents to score before winning by fall.

James Johnson fought hard, but was defeated by fall.  Skyler Hall was doing well when an injury forced him to default the match. Tazz Robinson rounded out the Buckaroo wins with a fall late in the third period. Brian Robinson, David Boyle, Ricky Wilcox, Van DeMille, Tyrel Shupe, and MJ Wagstaff all won by forfeit.

This week the Buckaroos take on Moab at home tonight at 7 p.m.  Tomorrow they host their final home match of the season against Dove Creek.  Matches start at 6 p.m.

The seven Buckaroo seniors will be honored at the match. The final dual of the season is Wednesday, January 27, when they travel to Blanding to take on the Broncos.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
The San Juan Record welcomes comments on our stories. Please be civil, respectful, focused and humane. Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of sjrnews.com