Municipal Elections set for November 21

by David Boyle
News Director
Sixteen political candidates have declared for eight city council seats in Blanding, Bluff, and Monticello. The filing period for all three municipalities was open to eligible residents from June 1 to 7.
Candidates for the three seats in Monticello and Blanding and the two seats in Bluff will be seeking appointment to four-year terms by voters in November. 
While elections in Utah are generally at the beginning of November, the planned September resignation of Congressional Representative Chris Stewart of the Utah District 2 has resulted in Utah Governor Spencer Cox issuing a proclamation to hold primary elections on September 5 with the general election on November 21.
The town of Bluff will be the only San Juan County municipality to have a primary.
Bluff voters will narrow the field of five candidates to four on September 5. With two representatives elected from a pool of four candidates on November 21.
Bluff town council candidates include Jennifer Davila, Michael W. Yearous, Wes Shook, Britt Hornsby, and Gary Lichtenstein.
Neither of the incumbents, Brant Murray and Jim Sayers, will seek re-election.
Blanding voters will be electing three representatives to the city council from a pool of five candidates.
Candidates include Christopher Ewald, Trenton Herring, Kendal Laws, Kellen Nielson, and Charlie Taylor.
Of the incumbants, Ewald and Nielson are on the ballot, while Len Gasser did not file to seek re-election.
Monticello voters will be electing three representatives from a pool of six candidates.
Candidates include Kim Henderson, Jeremy Hoggard, Nathan Chamberlain, Kirk Crowley, Ron Skinner, and M. Mack Smith.
Henderson, Chamberlain, and Skinner are all incumbents seeking re-election.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday