Monticello and Blanding Election Results

Unofficial results are in for five contested races in Blanding and Monticello city 2021 municipal elections.

Unofficial results released Tuesday evening show that incumbent Cheryl Bowers, Erik Merlin Grover, and Kellen Nielson were elected to the Blanding city council.

In Monticello Kevin Dunn, and Incumbent George Rice were elected to the city council according to unofficial results.

Blanding residents elected three council members. Two seats are for four-year terms, while the other is for a two-year term.

Incumbent Cheryl Bowers (423 votes) and Erik Merlin Grover (331) were the top vote earners for the four-year seats. Shawn Begay (251), and Paul Murdock (147), also ran for the council.

One Blanding city council seat is up for a two-year term after the seat was vacated in January when Logan Shumway stepped down from the council. The city council selected Kellen Nielson as his replacement through the end of the year, with the city voting to decide who fills out the remaining two years of the term.

Kellen Nielson earned 529 votes for the two year seat while Colby Monson earned 92.

Current city council member Logan Monson ran unopposed to become Blanding’s next mayor.

Since Monson will become mayor in the middle of his current city council term, the new city council will appoint his council replacement in January 2022 to fulfill the remaining two years of his term.

Outgoing council members include Robert Turk and Mayor Joe B. Lyman who did not seek re-election.

In Monticello four candidates ran for two seats for four-year terms. The top two vote earners were Incumbent George Rice (312), and Kevin Dunn (232), with Ammon Boswell (128), and Mandy Wigginton (156) also running for office.

Monticello will also have a new mayor as council member Bayley Hedglin ran unopposed to become Monticello’s first female mayor.

Monticello City Council will say goodbye to mayor Tim Young, who did not seek re-election.

In the town of Bluff, there are two council seats up for election. However, incumbents Linda Sosa and Luanne Hook were the only two to register and will retain their seats without challenge.

Mayor Ann Leppanen will also retain her role as Mayor after challenger Steve Helgerson officially withdrew from the race.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday