CTSO students meet for events

Students from across the San Juan School District recently participated in the second annual “Career and Technical Student Organization (CTSO) Competition. 
The event, hosted by CTE programs at the Utah State University Blanding Campus, brings the classroom to life, allowing students to demonstrate classroom knowledge by competing in events that correlate to future careers.
More than 250 students throughout the district participated in competitive events in which students demonstrated leadership, presentation, and technical skills.
The competition allowed students an opportunity to prepare for region and state competitions in FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America), FFA (Agriculture Organization), DECA (Distributive Education Clubs of America), HOSA (Future Health Professionals), and SkillsUSA (Skilled Workforce). 
While students were not competing they were able to participate in activities provided by the USU 4-H Extension Agency. Congratulations to all the winners.
The winner in the high school interview competition is Emily Pugh from San Juan High (SJH), followed by Shayla Pehrson and Magenta Crane.
Harriet McNaughtan from Albert R Lyman Middle School (ARL), won the junior high school interviewing event, followed by Peyton Hosler and Olive Harris.
The medical spelling title was claimed by Hope Palmer of Whitehorse High School (WHS), followed by Shayla Pehrson and Evan Keith.
Madi Snyder, of Monticello High School (MHS) won the photography event, followed by Gabe Long, William Rogers and Autumn Hall
Winners of the hydroponics competition are Josiah Gipe, LaMarcie Clark, Hannah Clark and Lyneah Israel of Monument Valley High School (MVHS) followed by Taylor Stash, Naturell Yellowman, Carter Knight and Evan Bradford.
The winner of the automotive event is Denim Howell of SJH, followed by Peyton Shumway and JayDee Shumway.
The graphic design winners are Allie Carling and Xymenah Alvarado of MHS, followed by Jane Burton, Dani Black, Murryn Suttlemeyer and Brenna Baxter.
The HOSA Knowledge Bowl winners are Evan Keith, Kinsey Bake, Tatum Begay and Toby Ward of SJH, followed by Keira Little, Savannah Slim, Harmon Thomas, Jaslene Begay, Hannah Clark, Shantel Begay, and Kelan Dee.
The winners of the Business plan event are Camden Crofts and Collee Crofts of SJH, followed by Jaynie McNaughten and Hailey Murdock.
Boston Bowers of SJH won the job interview competition, followed by Phoenix Chee and Gabrielle Dance.
The Creed Speaking winner is Dodger Black of SJH, followed by Elsie Grover and Aspen Palmer.
Colee Crofts of SJH is the Public Speaking winner, followed by Shayli Bake and Sierra Richmond.
The in-person welding winner is Logan Williams of ARL, followed by Jet Johnson and Kord Young.
The senior welding sculpture winner is DC Swafford of MHS, followed by Tobias Grey and Felipe Tenorio.
The junior welding sculpture winner is spencer Adams of SJH, followed by Amary Lee and Thaddeaus Smith.
Winners in the agriculture evaluation event are Dodger Black, Stetson Black, Clinton Kelley and Kooper Laws of SJH, followed by Elsie Grover, Chezney Ivins, Wyatt Ivins, Haygen Carlson, Adison Ivins, Sadie Black, Kellyn Davis, and Josie Larsen.
The agriculture mechanics winners are Felipe Tenorio, Tayton Johnson and Cameron Adair from WHS/SJH, followed by Kord Young, Logan Williams, Melias Cly, and Lyneah Israel.
The drone flight competition was won by Dawson Hardin of SJH, followed by Connor Pincock and Evan McCullough.
The award for best sales presentation goes to Jaiten night and JD Palmer of SJH, followed by Rebecca Chamberlain and Ever Kendrick.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday