Election filing period opens February 28

The period to file as a candidate for county, state, and federal elections is next week. 

Five San Juan County positions, three seats on the San Juan School Board, federal and state House of Representatives seats, and more will all be up for election on November 8.

The filing period for qualified political candidates and local school board of education candidates is February 28 through March 4, with local candidates filing at the San Juan County clerk's office in Monticello.

Federal candidates and the state treasurer must file at the Utah Lt. Governors office, while state school board, state house of representative, and state senate candidates can file at their home county clerks office or with the Lt. Governors office. 

Elections will be held for five county offices in San Juan County. Each election in San Juan County this year is for a four-year term.

Both the Second and Third Districts on the San Juan County Commission are up for election this year. The positions are currently held by Kenneth M Maryboy and Willie Grayeyes.

In addition, the San Juan County Clerk/Auditor, County Attorney, and County Sheriff offices are all up for election as well. The seats are currently held by Lyman Duncan, Kendall Laws, and Jason Torgerson, respectively.

The First, Third, and Fifth districts on the San Juan School Board are up for election this fall as well for four-year terms. They are currently held by Lori Maughan, Steve Black, and Nelson Yellowman. Due to redistricting Maughn and Black are now in the fourth district, meaning the First and Third school board districts will not have incumbents available to run. Black and Maughn will finish the two years remaining in their elected terms.

A two-year term in the Utah House of Representatives is up for election as well. It is currently held by Phil Lyman.

Elections are also being held in Utah for a four-year term for state treasurer, a two-year term for the Third Congressional Representative in Congress, and a six-year term for U.S. Senator. They are currently held by Marlo Oaks, John Curtis, and Mike Lee, respectively.

Additional information, including filing fees can be found in the legal section of this week’s edition of the San Juan Record.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday

Comment Here