Navajo Nation Primaries set for August 2

Navajo Nation Primary Elections are approaching with Navajo Nation Council seats and the office of the President on the ballot.
Absentee ballot requests for the primary must be received by July 18. Early voting is active now at election offices including in Shiprock and Tuba City. On election day, votes can be cast in person at chapter houses.
Voter registration for the primary closed in June, meaning inactive and non-registered voters will be unable to vote. Eligible voters can register for the general election between August 12 and September 30.
Navajo Nation Council delegates are up for election this year. The top two vote earners in the August primary advance to the general election in November.
The seat representing Mexican Water, Tolikan, Teec Nos Pos, Aneth, and Red Mesa has six candidates.
Current delegate Charlaine Tso faces Elanor Smith, Davis Filfred, Verma Y Francisco, Robert Redhouse, and Curtis Yanito.
Additionally, the seat representing Chilchinbeto, Dennehotso, and Kayenta Chapters will have a primary race. Incumbent Nathaniel Brown will face Iverna Parrish-John, Eugene Badonie, Paul Madson, Shaandiin Parrish, and Tully Begay.
There will be no primary election for council delegate representing the Tsah Bii Kin, Naa’tsis’aan, Shonto Community, and Oljato chapters. In November, incumbent Herman M. Daniels will face challenger Henry “Hank” Stevens.
Navajo Nation voters have a list of 15 presidential candidates to pair down to two finalists. Among the candidates are current president Jonathan Nez, Buu Nygren, Earl L Sombrero, Dr. Dolly Manson, Dineh Benally, Justin Jones, Emily Ellison, Kevin Cody, Sandra D Jeff, Frankie (Nelson) Davis, Leslie M Tsosie, Ethel Branch, Greg H Bigman, Frank Dayish, and Dr. Rosanna Jumbo-Fitch.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday