Political parties hold county conventions

Local political parties held their county nominating conventions on March 28 as delegates selected their preferences for the primary election ballots.
A full 100 percent of the San Juan County Republican delegates participated in the convention.
For the first district spot on the San Juan County Commission, Eric Grover and Lori Maughan advanced to the June 25 primary election ballot with the support of county delegates. In addition, a petition by candidate Doug Allen has been verified and he will also be on the primary election ballot.
Candidate Lloyd Wilson did not advance and Cheryl Bowers withdrew her candidacy. The candidates seek to succeed incumbent Bruce Adams on the County Commission.
In other Republican races in San Juan County, Assessor candidates Will McFarland and Rick Meyer, and Treasurer candidates Vint DeGraw and Glenice Pearson will be on the primary election ballot. Meyer and Pearson are incumbent candidates.
In addition, 17 of the 24 Democratic party delegates also met on March 28. Stacey Steele was selected as the party candidate for San Juan County Recorder. Scott Christensen said he has secured signatures to earn a spot on the Primary election ballot, but that petition had not been submitted by the press deadline.
Delegates for the state party conventions will meet on April 27 to consider candidacies for state and federal offices.
The general election is Tuesday, November 5.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday