Republicans will go to the polls for Primary Election on June 25

by David Boyle
News Director
The Utah Primary Election Day is June 25.
Across San Juan County, Republicans will be voting in nine races, with an additional 10th race for registered Republicans in Commission District 1.
Winners of the June 25 Primary will advance to the November 5 General Election.
With Commissioner Bruce Adams not seeking re-election, the district will have a new commissioner for the first time since Adams was elected in 2004.
Republican voters in District One will select between three candidates, including Doug Allen, Lori Maughan, and Erik Merlin Grover.
San Juan County Republicans will also vote for party representatives for County Treasurer and County Assessor. Incumbent Assessor Rick Meyer and William McFarland are on the ballot, with incumbent Treasurer Glenis Pearson and Vint DeGraw also on the ballot.
San Juan County Republicans will also cast votes for the party representative for the State House District 69. The seat is currently represented by Blanding resident Phil Lyman. Republican candidates for the seat include former Grand County Commissioner Lynn Jackson and Blanding Mayor Logan James Monson.
Also on the ballot are races the Governor and Lt. Governor for the state. Blanding resiudent Phil Lyman and his running mate Natalie Clawson face off against incumbent Spencer Cox and Deidre Henderson.
Lyman has run an aggressive campaign across the state against the incumbent governor. This race is the farthest a local resident has advanced in a quest to seek statewide elected office.
County Republicans will also vote for the state school board district 15 representative in a race between incumbent Kristan Norton and Joann Brinton.
Voters will also cast ballots for state auditor in a race between Tina Cannon and Ricky Hatch.
Candidates for Utah Attorney General include Derek Brown, Frank Mylar and Rachell Terry.
Republican Candidates for the US Senate seat currently held by Mitt Romney include John Curtis, Jason Walton, Brad Wilson and Trent Staggs.
Republican Candidates for US House District 3, currently held by John Curtis, include JR Bird, Mike Kennedy, Case Lawrence, Stewart Peay, and John Dougall.
Early voting locations have been available throughout the county for several weeks, with ballots also being mailed out in late May.
Early voting has been held at nine locations throughout the county. Early voting continues the remainder of this week.
Early voting is available at the Navajo Mountain Chapter House on Wednesday, June 19 from 10 am to 2 pm.
Early voting is also available at the Aneth Chapter House on Thursday, June 20 from 10 am to 2 pm.
Early voting concludes on Friday, June 21 at the County Administration building in Monticello from 10 am to Noon and at the White Mesa Community Health Building on the same day from Noon to 4 pm.
Ballot boxes are available at the locations mentioned above, as well as the Montezuma Creek Diné building, the Monument Valley Welcome Center, the Mexican Water and Red Mesa Chapter Houses, and Blanding City Hall.
Ballots placed in the mail must be postmarked by Monday, June 24.
Election day voting sites are open on June 25 from 7 am to 8 pm. Those sites include Montezuma Creek, Monument Valley, Navajo Mountain, White Mesa, Blanding, and Monticello.
Navajo Language Assistance is available throughout the county, with Ute Language assistance available at White Mesa locations.
According to information gathered by the Lt. Governor’s office, San Juan County leads the state in ballots returned with 27 percent.
Grand, Piute, Morgan, and Davis counties report receiving 15 percent of ballots returned, with all other counties in Utah reporting a smaller percentage as of June 18.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday