Strong turnout for Primary

Voters turned out in large numbers for a primary election, as local citizens in area communities determined which candidates will appear on the November 3 General election ballot.
Voters had a broad selection of candidates to choose from in both Blanding and Monticello.
San Juan County administrered the primary elections, which were held with mail-only ballots.
A total of 540 voters participated in the first primary election in Blanding to be held with mail-only ballots. This represents 39 percent of registered voters. It is the first primary election in Blanding City in several years.
In Monticello, a total of 435 voters participated in the election. This represents 48 percent of registered voters. The turnout in Monticello represents a small decrease from the August 2013 primary election for City Council.
In 2013, a total of 480 voters participated in a primary race in Monticello to pare seven candidates to six for the general election.
In Blanding, there were seven candidates to vie for the six ballot positions.
Incumbent Joe B. Lyman received the highest number of votes, followed closely by Trevor Olson.
Katrina Perkins was third, with Ruth S. Johnson close behind.
The remaining two spots on the November ballot are claimed by Travis Whatcott and Trent Herring.
The terms of three council members will expire, currently held by Joe B. Lyman, David Johnson and Kelly Laws.
In Monticello, eight candidates sought the six ballot spots in the race for three positions on the Monticello City Council.
The candidate receiving the largest number of votes is Blaine Nebeker, followed closely by Sanford Randall.
The next highest number of votes went to Nathan Chamberlain, followed by Sarah English.
The remaining two spots on the general election ballot are claimed by Staci Lou Hoggard and Chris Baird.
The terms of three council members will expire, currently held by Scott Frost, Rick Clarke and Monte Wells.
Six ballots have arrived at the county courthouse since the initial ballot count on August 11. Officials from the San Juan County Clerks office said that two of the ballots were postmarked August 10, but the remainder were postmarked after the election deadline.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday